LAST CHANCE TO SUBMIT for the 2008 Kerope Zildjian Concert Percussion Scholarship

(Zildjian | Posted 2008-06-06)

LAST CHANCE TO SUBMIT for the 2008 Kerope Zildjian Concert Percussion Scholarship

The Zildjian family is pleased to announce the fourth annual Kerope Zildjian Scholarship. This scholarship recognizes an outstanding student percussionist, who is currently enrolled in an undergraduate music program. At the same time, establishing this scholarship is an opportunity for the family to pay tribute to Kerope, who presided over one of the most-storied periods in Zildjian history. From 1865 until his death in 1909 in Constantinople, Kerope continued to develop the classic K. Zildjian sound, coveted by the world's greatest percussionists. In memory of Kerope's deep commitment to the art of craftsmanship, the Zildjian family established this scholarship to encourage and reward percussionists in their pursuit of performing excellence.

The past winners of the Kerope Zildjian Scholarship are:
Adam Wolfe - 2005 winner from Cleveland State University, Andrew Furhman - 2006 winner from the Eastman School of Music and Tihda Vongkoth - 2007 winner from Southern Methodist University.

The 2008 Scholarship winner will receive the following:

- A $4000 college tuition award.
- An all expense paid trip to Zildjian's world headquarters to hand select a variety of complimentary cymbals.
- One year's membership to the Percussive Arts Society

For more information and to apply, visit the the Giving Back section, or send a self addressed stamped envelope to:

Kerope Zildjian Scholarship
ATTN: Keith Aleo
22 Longwater Drive
Norwell, MA 02061

Application deadline:
June 6th, 2008

Winner will be notified by:
August 8th, 2008

Write a user review