AKG D-112 Reviews 5

AKG D-112

A lot of people really love this mic on the kick drum, but against my Beta 52, I don't have as much love for it. The mic can sound great, but it needs quite a bit of EQing to get it to sound the way I usually like, and it's much more picky about its placement. Though it has a higher frequency range than the Shure, the natural EQ of the mic doe... [read more on Audiofanzine]

MatrixClaw rated this unit 4 on 2012-03-31.

What I find remarkable about the AKG Acoustics D 112 is the simple fact that I cannot objectively point out how good it sounds. The microphone is not really something that one can understand until one has used it. I have reviewed other low frequency microphones before, and I have been extremely satisfied with them, but the simple truth is, this ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Kierkes rated this unit 5 on 2011-10-31.

To me this mic is rather finicky though. You have to position it just right to get the sound you want. I haven't tried other mics that claim that you don't need to find the "sweet spot" though. After the experiences I have had with microphones, I am still skeptical about those claims. So, with what I know about this mic, I like it and will conti... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ericthegreat rated this unit 4 on 2011-09-22.

It does what it's supposed to do (kick drum, bass) and some of what it isn't (electric guitar) really well. There's still things I want to try it on, like maybe combining it with a small-diaphragm condenser on acoustic guitar solo. I have two of these and I wish I had a third. [read more on Audiofanzine]

sat4n rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-07.

I have been using these for so many years, and they always do a good job with kick drums. A lot of other engineers swear by using this mic on bass amp cabs, but I definitely tend to stick with just recording bass with DI and nothing else. Anything you're recording that needs a solid low end, you should consider throwing up a D 112 even if you ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

victormelamade rated this unit 5 on 2008-10-26.

I have been using this inside of a kick drum for years. I usually go between this mic and Audix's D6, which is a very comparable mic. I find that the D6 will get you more low end on your kick sound, but the AKG will get you a sound that is easier to mix in with your song and have it still cut through. I have used a few kick drum mics and this... [read more on Audiofanzine]

joshsound rated this unit 5 on 2008-10-06.

I have been using the D112 for around three years. It is very durable, and never breaks up when faced with a strong bass drum or bass guitar signal. That is what I like most about the microphone - what more could one ask? It replicates sound extremely well, with clarity and punch. I have not used any of the comparable microphones that are on... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mbass rated this unit 5 on 2008-09-25.

I've had the AKG D112 for about 4 years now. When I got it I also got the Shure Beta 52A so that I could have a shootout with the two and see which one I liked best as my kick drum mic. I choose the D112 because to me it gives a tighter sound. I also love the design of it as it is easy to set up and place. The D112 and the Beta 52a are pretty mu... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2008-03-25.

For the money, I firmly believe this is as good as it gets. You can obviously spend alot more money if you like, but you will not surpass the sound quality this unit puts out. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Bluesman rated this unit 5 on 2001-11-04.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000