Apple GarageBand Reviews 4

Apple GarageBand

The only thing I don't really like about Garage Band is it's graphic look (the GUI). Don't get me wrong, it's clean and really nice to look at I just wish it looked like some of the others on the market (maybe I'm just being picky). It's one of the best DAWS out there in it's price range (again FREE you pay nothing for it.) Audio quality i... [read more on Audiofanzine]

vsavagellc rated this unit 4 on 2012-11-29.

Obviously what is to like about GarageBand is it's simplicity and the amount of power and control over your recording and mix that can be had, especially for a newcomer to digital recording. It does have it's limitations though. One of the biggest issues that I have encountered with GarageBand is dealing with editing. GarageBand only allows you ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

AudioArtist rated this unit 4 on 2012-11-27.

I could see how GarageBand would be a great tool, even for professionals, when quick idea capture is all that's needed. Logic is a wonderful tool, as are all the other DAWs, but quite honestly, they can get rather unwieldy if all you want to do is record a guitar lick so you don't forget it later. GarageBand doesn't come with any bloat. Howev... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Kierkes rated this unit 5 on 2011-07-14.

Garageband is a great DAW for those who are just starting out, but keep in mind that it has its limitations as to what you can actually do. It's not meant for power users, and those who are used to professional DAWs might find it a bit lacking overall. However, if you're a casual musician who needs something basic to use, Garageband should sui... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 4 on 2011-06-06.

What I like about GarageBand is that it's free and that it's easy to understand and access. It's pretty good for beginners and to play around with, but to produce professionally, it's very bad. The program lacks a lot of tools to mix voices in with an instrumental and it has very poor sounds to make instrumentals yourself. The sounds it offers y... [read more on Audiofanzine]

WuTangSht rated this unit 3 on 2010-12-26.

I like the ease of use that Garageband offers. I really think that it's the best thing to use if you need to make a rough demo of something, a project you have no intention of releasing. I've actually been able to record a full kit and bass guitar with the Apple mic, and have managed to get really good sounds just by EQing and compressing. As f... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mooseherman rated this unit 4 on 2010-08-26.

If you are serious about producing music, you are better off with a mac anyway, and since all new macs come with this software, its worth a try. If you are going to invest money in real production, I would shell out some dough for a more robust piece of software (Logic/Reason/ProTools/Etc). If you are just a musician who wants to compose som... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ctargia rated this unit 3 on 2010-05-06.

I've been using Apple Garage Band for around year since I got my Apple computer that it came installed on. While I have Apple Logic and Pro Tools that I use for most of my projects, I use Garage Band for demos and ideas when I just want to record straight from my computer microphone. The price of Garage Band is free with an Apple computer, but i... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-03-25.

With a more powerful mac (say a dual G5 with a couple gigs or more of ram) I could probably break the 8 track barier that has been hedging my creative juices. There are many people out there using this software on older iBooks and making great music. Perfect for recording live performances. For 49.00 US you just can't go wrong if you own a G4 o... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Coreen Leclerc rated this unit 5 on 2004-06-18.

Get it now! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jelle van Andel rated this unit 5 on 2004-01-26.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000