Audio-Technica AT 2020 Reviews 4

Audio-Technica AT 2020

This microphone is perfect for someone who records on the go or mainly from home. It works great in open spaces and does a good job of not picking up background noise when recording. I have used it for some small demo work in public places if I need to record a quick idea or even a voice over. It sounds good no matter where you use it at. Someti... [read more on Audiofanzine]

JimboSpins rated this unit 4 on 2013-01-23.

This is a great sounding entry level mic. To get the most out of this mic, you need to turn up the pre on your channel strip until you can hear yourself breathing in the cans, and step back so you are between 1 and 2 feet away from the mic. you have to keep a distance. use a pop filter if it helps you to remember. If you are right on top of the ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mitchgeist rated this unit -1 on 2012-11-14.

What I like most about this usb mic is that it reproduce accurately which is something I can't say for other usb mics out there. What I don't like is fact you can't do any freq cuts on the mic nor does it have any pattern selections but again it's a simple $100.00 Cardioid mic. It not many bells and whistles (I'm spoiled and picky). I persona... [read more on Audiofanzine]

vsavagellc rated this unit 5 on 2012-10-11.

The mic is very well built and can take a few drops, believe me because I have dropped it several times and nothing has happened to it this far. When purchasing this mic they tell you it can be used for vocals or for instruments but to me just leave the instruments out for now. If you have to record with instruments using this mic then that?s ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

theaudioandvideoguy rated this unit 4 on 2012-06-24.

Overall, this is a great general purpose, cardioid condenser microphone that any starting musician should consider. Very durable, very transparent sound, from a reputable microphone company. This mic has lasted me several years, and I never had the need to replace it. You won't be disappointed! [read more on Audiofanzine]

JeffTadashi rated this unit 5 on 2012-05-14.

I was in a Sam Ash last year browsing around. I know a few of the staff there pretty well and they take care of me. I started talking to a guy about condensers and said I was in the market for a good cardioid. I needed something to pair with an sm57 for micing electric in my studio. He recommended I do a shootout right in the store. We ende... [read more on Audiofanzine]

James... rated this unit 4 on 2011-08-06.

The Audio-Technica AT2020 is a very solid microphone that is musically flattering and still very versatile. It's not a microphone I would buy right now, because of its big brother, the AT2035, offering slightly better sensitivity, a more flattering (in my opinion) frequency response, and a lower noise-figure, for just a bit more with a shockmoun... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Kierkes rated this unit 4 on 2011-06-30.

Bottom Line: This is a great mic to have your locker, but this shouldn't be the ONLY mic in your locker. If you work in a setting where you deal with several different genres, you will definitely want a few more options. However, if you record your own band, try this mic out. If it works and makes your singer sound good, you won't need to ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

RDLOB rated this unit 4 on 2010-05-22.

Incredible!! This mic performs incredibly well, in comparison to ANY mic...let alone one for a mere $140. Just plug it on, and give it a little bit of phantom juice. Thats all there is to it. Beign that it is a condenser mic, its no secret that it needs to be treated gently. With proper care, this product will make you very VERY happy. I've ne... [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

I have been using the AT2020 for about 3 monthes now and love it more everyday. It's an exceptionally strong mic, and if you place it in an open area, it can pick up things your ears can?t even hear. One of the At2020?s hidden charms is that it's great at recording ambient noise for your work, just turn your pre amps all way up. To me, the AT2... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Marshall92 rated this unit 5 on 2008-10-31.

I had two of these mics for about a year a while ago but I ended up selling them. I thought they were good while I had them but I quickly got tired of their sound, which is not that great, and upgraded to a better pair of stereo mics that were large diaphragms. The price is very good on these though since they are only about 100 dollars per mi... [read more on Audiofanzine]

victormelamade rated this unit 3 on 2008-10-24.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000