Boss BD-2 Blues Driver Reviews 4

Boss BD-2 Blues Driver

Overall this pedal would be a good pedal in the 50US dollars market, but for 100US dollars there are better options out there. I prefer it to the similar priced Ibanez Tubescreamer, but once again I feel that pedal is overpriced for what it does. I like the Digitech Bad Monkey because it splits the tone into two separate knobs, allowing for mo... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Fireguy8402 rated this unit 3 on 2011-12-23.

Extremely easy to use and no need of a manual. However, Keeley does include a manual for his 5 start tone stack which what he calls his mod to this pedal. Plus this unit came with an additional chip inside that change the clipping and tone as well. Not sure the name for it...I think it was called the brown chip or something. I never really flipp... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ericthegreat rated this unit 4 on 2011-11-25.

By it self it come in around $90 but modded you are almost going to double that if you by new modified. I suggest you get one used and then send it out. But then I would suggest you just buy a TS9 or an OCD. If you need a good clean boost then this is a proper pedal for that, but if I personally had the choice I'd go for an SD-1. Get this thi... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 2 on 2011-06-29.

I find it interesting that this pedal isn't as popular as it is. It's a fairly overlooked pedal, and it goes real cheap on the used market. I can only assume it's because it doesn't push the amp quite as much as the SD-1 does. On the other hand, I find it sounds a bit more "natural" than the SD-1 for whatever reason. It seems to complement t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 4 on 2011-04-07.

Get this thing modified! I cannot stress this enough. You want to use a pedal that feels and sounds natural. It may cost a little bit extra but if you need a slight OD pedal that is silky smooth and reacts naturally to your guitar amp then send it to Keeley or Analogman. By it self it come in around $90 but modded you are almost going to double... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 2 on 2011-03-19.

I've been using the Boss BD-2 for about four or five years. While I don't use it all the time, when I am looking for a specific type of overdrive, this can work like a charm. Boss has a reputation for make quality products, and this pedal definitley fits that bill. It would be hard to break and has a great overall tone quality. The price, like m... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-02-22.

I have been using the Bluesdriver for about two years now. I think eventually I will update it with an effect by T-Rex. They just sound better - period. I do think the Bluesdriver is not for everyone and even I wouldn't use it as a single pedal very often. But together with my Tubescreamer (or a similar pedal) it really gives my signal a very ni... [read more on Audiofanzine]

phraseland rated this unit 5 on 2008-12-11.

I would get it again in an instant. Great tone and durability at a great price! [read more on Audiofanzine]

fenelon rated this unit 5 on 2004-10-15.

For anything from Jazz to Blues to Rock, this is the pedal for you! Get it! (But get the adapter too!) [read more on Audiofanzine]

Tim B. rated this unit 5 on 2004-08-19.

It gives you any thing you need I think most people that have one will say the same thing. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Scott rated this unit 5 on 2004-07-08.

In my opinion, the pedal is a good tonal option if , like me, you prefer an analog pedal board instead of digital all-in-one effects. To me it sounds good with a Fender but better with a Gibson. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Sam rated this unit 4 on 2003-12-31.

Overall I am very pleased with this pedal. It has a great tone and is very good for playing blues. I would highly recommend this pedal for anyone, whether just starting out, or someone who has been playing for many years. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Matt rated this unit 4 on 2003-12-06.

Bottom line, I play all kinds of stuff when i gig, from weezer to AC/DC, to clapton, to Pearl Jam . . . even a little ozzy now and again . . . this pedal is a favorite. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Steven Houston rated this unit 5 on 2002-02-23.

IF YOU OWN THIS PEDAL, PLEASE GET THE MOD. IT WILL MAKE THE PEDAL A KEEPER, NOT SOMETHING YOU’RE USING UNTIL YOU CAN AFFORD A BETTER OVERDRIVE PEDAL. ROBERTKEELEY.COM Without mod rated 2 With mod rated 10 on a 1 to 5 scale [read more on Audiofanzine]

Roy rated this unit 5 on 2002-01-30.

If you you need a classic rock/british blues/heavy metal-maybe:) sound in a quality package, the Blues Driver is for you. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Pete rated this unit 5 on 2001-12-03.

You're going to be able to dial in a lot of cool tones with this unit. Aside from it's hungry appetite, you can't go wrong. Try and find one used, like I did, if you're not sure though. You can always resell it and recover pretty much what you paid in case you don't like it. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jake rated this unit 4 on 2001-06-26.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000