Boss GE-1 Equalizer Reviews 4

Boss GE-1 Equalizer

Overall this is a pretty good EQ pedal. It does do a great job of shaping your tone and allowing you to boost your volume or certain frequencies, but the added noise does not make it usable in my rig. If I were looking for a similarly priced EQ pedal I would opt for the MXR 6 or 10 band EQs. The 10 band might be a bit more expensive, but there... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Fireguy8402 rated this unit 3 on 2011-12-23.

While not everyone needs or wants a booster, the Boss GE 7 needs to be checked out for anyone who does. The pedal is very reasonably priced, making it accessible for players on all budgets. It is perfect for players who want to switch back and forth between lead and rhythm tones quickly for live shows or otherwise. For anyone who wants a very... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ericthegreat rated this unit 4 on 2011-12-21.

I'd give it a 7. Better than average, yet could use a bit of work due to the noise factor. I saw that there is a mod available for it, and I'll have to research it to see if that helps take care of the noise that the pedal induces. Again, the noise is probably not that severe to most ears, I'm just a bit picky. I took mine back to the store to t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

heads on fire rated this unit 4 on 2011-11-07.

I?d recommend passing on this one. Excess noise and a subpar buffer make it a pretty mediocre pedal. graphic EQ is one of the most overused effects among guitarists. If you really do need a GEQ and run a clean signal without much compression, this one will do the job (loosely speaking). But if you?re after anything of better quality, or run a n... [read more on Audiofanzine]

denied rated this unit 3 on 2011-07-31.

AT new these pedals come in right at around $100. You can find them for cheaper but this is usually the going rate for this pedal. This is a must have for someone needing to tailor their tone a little more. If you are lacking or have too much of something then this pedal will take care of that for you in a snap. I would recommend this to anyone ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 4 on 2011-07-20.

Given how much noise there is with these pedals, I can't really recommend them. In fact, Danelectro has a pedal that's just like this. It's not quite as sturdy, but the price is right, it's dead quiet and it doesn't suck tone. If you're in the market for an EQ pedal, I really think you'd be better off with the Danelectro pedal. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 3 on 2011-03-21.

I got the Boss GE-7 for about four years ago and since have sold it because I decided I didn't need any sort of EQ pedal. I didn't sell it because it wasn't effective, I just didn't use it enough to warrant having it around. The pedal is clean and easy to use and if you are looking to get an EQ in terms of a guitar foot pedal, this is absolutely... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-02-26.

I have been using this for three years. I like its easy portability (its so small). I dislike the hiss you get when you boost the highs. This is really the only stomp box EQ I have ever tried. The prices for this pedal are decent. Its worth it if you need a clearer, brighter tone, or if you won't more low end say on a solo. Yeah, I would b... [read more on Audiofanzine]

songboy rated this unit 5 on 2008-09-05.

dont waste your money on a rack eq, get this and you wont be sorry. or if you want to get more punch out of your distortion pedal get this. [read more on Audiofanzine]

bossalltheway rated this unit 5 on 2004-12-27.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000