Boss SD-1 Reviews 4

Boss SD-1

Overall this pedal is a decent basic overdrive. I prefer it to the famous Ibanez Tubescreamer, but I would probably look at other pedals to fill the same tone requirements as the SD1. I like the Digitech Bad Monkey because it splits the tone into two separate knobs, allowing for more tweaking. The Transparent Overdrive from Danelectro is also... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Fireguy8402 rated this unit 3 on 2011-12-23.

Overall, Alone the tone is not so great , but behind a good distortion or fuzz pedal this thing sounds amazing. Sounds best coming through a tube amp, looses a little of its bite coming through solid state. Bump it in on a tube amp with a little fuzz and you'll love the tone. Give this pedal a shot, you cant beat it for 40 bucks! [read more on Audiofanzine]

yoTrakkz rated this unit 4 on 2011-10-20.

What I like most about it is the uses for boosting amps to get that high gain saturated sound from vintage marshall-esque amps. It's dirt cheap as well nowadays. Nowadays there are many mods available, the sd-1 is kind of like the honda civic of overdrives. Everybody has a different mod to put into it. And though it can be modded to be more v... [read more on Audiofanzine]

nickname009 rated this unit 4 on 2011-05-19.

This is a good OD pedal. The tone knob is not very responsive, but with a quick, no soldering needed mod, it opens up and becomes a better pedal. This is a great pedal to mod. a few mods and it goes from a decent pedal to awesome. Stock, It's a decent OD for a good price. [read more on Audiofanzine]

darkwolf291 rated this unit 4 on 2011-05-11.

All in all this pedal is great. It has served me very well for almost ten years and I've used it in every style imaginable at this point and it's held up great. Whether running it into a clean amp for a bit of dirt, into a mildly overdriven one to push it over the top, or as a high gain booster to give amps a serious headrush, the Boss Super Ove... [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 4 on 2011-04-18.

Waste of $45. For overdrive, the Maxon OD 808 is far superior and worth the extra cash. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Sam rated this unit 1 on 2003-12-31.

best o/d pedal ive ever played, bluesy sounds on its own then chuck on ur marshall o/d and you get the zakk wylde spectacular gain and tone sound. brilliant pedal and used by john 5 and zakk wylde. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Matt Vardy rated this unit 5 on 2003-12-20.

If your a classic rocker, use light amp overdrive, and then for the solo stomp and feel the power. Jazz players will get a nice light fuzz on the clean channel. This is not a pedal to be used on its own. It complements any effect it is paired to. The only way to see if you like it is to try it out in a shop. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Conor Raftery rated this unit 4 on 2003-12-19.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000