Digidesign/Avid Digi 001 Reviews 5

While certainly a bit outdated at this point, the Digidesign Digi 001 can still be a somewhat viable audio interface if you've got an older computer and are just looking for something to get ideas down. I'm not sure if it will run with the newest versions of Pro Tools, although I don't see why it wouldn't. The good news about the Digi 001 is t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 4 on 2011-09-01.

Although the clarity is great, i've found that it sounds a little....thin? plugins like the aforementioned Bombfactory series can pretty much take care of that problem though. I'm also not 100% happy with the two mic pres, i use a behringer mixer as a substitute. D-verb is a GREAT sounding plugin, the delays are cool, but the rest are kinda...me... [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

Excellent sound. love the 1/4 inch outputs I love this product! Originally posted on FutureProducers.com Posted by: Unknown ( 5-, 2003) [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

It is perfect for home recordings and the sound quality is great. I love protools, I wouldn't use anything else to record, I would only upgrade to bigger Protools systems. I've went from Protools Free to Mbox and now I use Digi001 when I get more money I want Digi002 Originally posted on FutureProducers.com Posted by: Unknown ( 4-, 2003) [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

Sounds like a home studio. don't expect to get a truely pro sound. but then again, the rest of my equipment is "home rated" so.......... i'm not fully aware of the potential in this catagory. Originally posted on FutureProducers.com Posted by: Unknown (January 2-, 2002) [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

The score may seem low, but I think the converters are kind of dated now. They simply cannot compare with Lucid, Apogee, Rme and many others. Most pro's who care avbout their sound arent using 888's with their tdm rigs either. I don't know about the newer HD or 002 contervers though, they might be better. This is comparable to other products in ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

The best sound quality on the market-- next to the Protools TDM and HD systems. I don't know how I recorded before the Digi 001 Originally posted on FutureProducers.com Posted by: Unknown (January 0-, 2002) [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

Digidesign has always been known as the king of audio interfaces... with good reason. The Digi 001 uses the same quality inputs as found on thier $8000 Protools TDM System. You won't get a better audio interface for you computer under $1000! Excellent gear. Don't know how I worked without it. Originally posted on FutureProducers.com Posted by:... [read more on Audiofanzine]

FP User Reviews rated this unit 5 on 2008-11-01.

DIGIDESIGN DIGI-001 If you are looking to get into a home recording system and not break the bank, you might seriously want to look into the Digi-001. Yes, it is not the latest and greatest unit by Digidesign and no it will not work on any Pro Tools version above version six four. But for the price you can find these things, most people can l... [read more on Audiofanzine]

AnimalTracksStudio rated this unit 5 on 2008-05-12.

Paid $850, May of 2000... this is when ProTools LE software was FIRST made available to Windows users.

Convenience of ProTools! Inexpensive. Powerful; you still get plenty of tracks and unlimited MIDI usage. Decent free Plugins. Makes learning ProTools a cinch!

Not many. Most Limitations are due to the Computer (and the Computer speed, processing power, and hard drive) on which you run the DIGI 001.

User Friendly... The two Mic Preamps are great! The only problem is that they are on the Front of the unit. This could be GOOD or BAD, depending on how you set it up and what you want to accomplish in your studio.

A good product... especially for the price! I use it on Windows, so I don't get to utilize ALL the features (Macintosh runs all the features, including MP3 conversion). Overall, a great way to learn and dive into ProTools.

ScottyKeez rated this unit 5 on 2001-12-23.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000