Dunlop Cry Baby GCB-95 Reviews 3

Dunlop Cry Baby GCB-95

It's a legend and the first of it's kind from Dunlop, but that also shows when you play it. It's like they needed to tune in, on how the circuit should be, which took a few generations. The effect has ben overdone throughout time, but you can't really have a pedal board without it. It can spice up a funky rhythm guitar or give that extra squeal... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Skjold rated this unit 4 on 2012-08-13.

This is the standard wha sound and I do prefer many of the alternate models to this one. It is the tried and true wha so money spent on it is well spent in my opinion. The thing is built like a tank and is capable of kicking the butt of any other pedal in a cage match. The major down sides to this pedal are based in its older design. It ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

MountAnDewMe rated this unit 4 on 2012-08-07.

I was never really a big wah person to begin with but over the years have come to recognize that it's an essential effect to have as a guitar player. Yes it has been overused but also has been and could still be used tastefully in certain situations. I currently don't see any problem with it other than the longevity of the pedal itself but to th... [read more on Audiofanzine]

nickname009 rated this unit 4 on 2012-01-20.

The GCB-95 would be a good choice for someone looking for a classic wah tone. It does lose a little bit of high end when put into your signal path, but nothing that can?t be corrected by your amplifier. If I were to be looking for another wah pedal I would probably go another route and get something with a few more bells and whistles that coul... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Fireguy8402 rated this unit 3 on 2011-11-19.

Overall, I have to say that if you are the kind of person that is not comfortable modding guitar pedals, then stay away from the Dunlop GCB-95. On the other hand, if you love diving into pedals, soldering iron in hand, then this very well may be the Wah pedal for you. It has massive potential to sound awesome, and the mods for it are very simple... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Stormleader rated this unit 3 on 2011-03-22.

Those looking for a first wah, you're probably better off looking at the 535Q or one of the newer ones. This particular wah is starting to get a bit dated. However, if you find a non-surface mount component one and aren't afraid of modding, you can voice this mod to be more versatile than any of the boutique wahs out there. It'll sound just a... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 4 on 2011-03-21.

This thing is VERY Shrill and Harsh stock. It is a great platform for modding, and some people may like it's level of shrillness, but not me. I reindexed the pot and have done a few mods (true bypass and increased the mids) and it sounds like a new pedal. If you're not in to modding, or don't like a shrill, harsh wah, then this is not the pedal ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

darkwolf291 rated this unit 3 on 2011-03-21.

The thing I like most is the build quality. I wouldn't worry at all about it failing under heavy use. If it ever did fail, repairs would be very easy due to a clean layout and the fact that it uses full sized components. I absolutely hate how noisy it is. It's a definite deal breaker if you plan on using it without modding it. For home use at lo... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mmolteratx rated this unit 3 on 2011-03-19.

I've had mine for about 6 years now and although I don't use it all the time, it is my only wah-wah pedal and use it whenever I want the effect. It is real basic to use and has an on/off switch to toggle with when you press down the front of the pedal with your toes. I've used some other Dunlop models and Vox models and while I like some of the ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

soccerplayer25 rated this unit 5 on 2008-03-26.

This is a piece of shit. Anyone who knows what they're doing will stay away from this. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Brandyn Blaze rated this unit 1 on 2006-04-25.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000