Electro-Harmonix Big Muff Reviews 4

Electro-Harmonix Big Muff

Overall this pedal does what it does and that?s about it. It?s a fuzz pedal and it?s gets that classic Muff sound. They always say ?classic sounds of Hendrix to Santana? on their ads, but I hear more Santana than Jimi for sure. It doesn?t get as raw as Jimi?s classic tone, but it?ll get you in the ball park. Overall for 80US dollars it?s a we... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Fireguy8402 rated this unit 4 on 2011-12-23.

For the money I just don't think this can be beat. I have other fuzz pedals that sound better in some situations and have a more refined sound but they cost much more than this. There are some inconsistencies with it though. I have played others that sounded quite different from mine. I wouldn't say worse but different. The huge size is also a t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

wwhhhaatt rated this unit 5 on 2011-07-20.

I love this pedal. Easy to use and the most classic fuzz box this world has ever known. I would say the only down side is the size of the box. It is HUGE and takes up a ton of space on your pedal board. Another thing is the odd plug which is on the male side. It doesn't use a normal Boss or Ibanez plug so beware of that. It feels kind of hol... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 5 on 2011-06-29.

Not the best Muff type pedal I've come across. They sound decent, nothing more, nothing less. They go for quite cheap used, so if you are on a budget, its not a bad choice. But personally I would pass. The mediocre, bland sound, coupled with the shoddy build quality and flimsy enclosure just don't do it for me at all. If you are after a seri... [read more on Audiofanzine]

denied rated this unit 3 on 2011-05-11.

This is a quality pedal. Great sounding (if you like the sound of it) and decently priced. I personally don't find myself much of a Muff fan. I like a thinner, treblier and fuzzier fuzz. I am being unbiased in my rating and not rating it low because I don't like it. This is a great pedal, but I just don't like the Muff tone. This is one of these... [read more on Audiofanzine]

darkwolf291 rated this unit 4 on 2011-04-01.

For the price of a used one I believe it's worth it, definitely a good first pedal to dip your toe into the world of fuzz. Although I think there are better Big Muff variants available, I much prefer the tone stack in the Sovtek built Big Muffs. I think this model of muff is a great pedal to modify to provide more versatility and a more unique ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

badgerific rated this unit 4 on 2011-03-25.

I love this pedal. Easy to use and the most classic fuzz box this world has ever known. I would say the only down side is the size of the box. It is HUGE and takes up a ton of space on your pedal board. Another thing is the odd plug which is on the male side. It doesn't use a normal Boss or Ibanez plug so beware of that. It feels kind of hollow ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 5 on 2011-03-17.

I like the tone of this pedal the most. I don't have any particular qualms about the sound. It is reliable, durable, and consistent in its performance. It gets noisy, but not excessively so. It will really rock when you push it. I think that nowadays, it's probably a little bit more expensive than it used to be, but I definitely think it's still... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mooseherman rated this unit -1 on 2009-06-08.

I've been using the Electro Harmonix Big Muff Pi for about three years. While I can't get every distortion sound I would like out of this, the sound it does produce is pretty great. It is thick and rich in tone and is quite easy to use. Compared to a pedal like the Boss DS-1, it sounds better overall to me as it produces a much fuller tone. The ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-02-20.

This is a great pedal for anyone wanting to get a really big sound with themselves and their guitarist but still keeping the low end nice and clear. I would definatly recomend this pedal to all those into bands such as Rage Against the Machine, Muse etc. Bassically any song with bass distortion this thing can emulate quite closely. [read more on Audiofanzine]

-Minus-Human- rated this unit 5 on 2004-04-15.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000