Electrovoice RE 20 Reviews 4

Electrovoice RE 20

This open circuit dynamic microphone has an impedance of 150 ohms and a frequency response of 45Hz-18 kHz. I love the way this microphone sounds on our Pearl kick, it brings that thump while still keeping the sound punchy. We don?t even have to mess with the EQ at all when we record kicks with the Electro Voice RE20. Depending on what your mai... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mrjason rated this unit 5 on 2012-11-30.

A must have for broadcast or kick drum or bass amp micing. Can take hot levels and sounds fantastic. Not the best for lead vocals on music though. The Electro-Voice RE20 is a dynamic cardioid microphone so it is limited and you should know that. Like I said it was created specially for recording, broadcast and sometimes live for horns and kick... [read more on Audiofanzine]

chrislieck rated this unit 5 on 2012-09-26.

The thing that I like most about it is how well it captures the sounds, the wide frequency response , and of course the material of what is made that is extremely solid and heavy which I find very importantly in terms of using the mic in random studios and places. Another great features of this product is that it has an internal pop filter th... [read more on Audiofanzine]

BeyondR rated this unit 5 on 2012-09-12.

Only the size of it might be an issue. Sound is great. Compared to other dynamic microphones he is expensive but his quality's make that good. [read more on Audiofanzine]

AV Inspire rated this unit 5 on 2012-08-24.

Bottom Line? Get over your preconceived notions about the RE 20 and buy one for your studio...it's tough, sounds good, and great on your lower frequency instruments. [read more on Audiofanzine]

AlexV rated this unit 5 on 2010-03-12.

I guess the best quality of this microphone is it's reliability. While it's rarely the best choice in a studio for vocals, it will suffice in most situations. I tend to prefer large diaphragm condenser mics when recording vocals, but I have heard from colleagues that this mic has worked wonders for them. Hearing the results that they achieved, I... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mooseherman rated this unit -1 on 2009-06-08.

I've been using RE20s for about three years and they not only sound great but are incredibly sturdy and well built. This guy is strong and well protected and I don't think they could be broken very easily, even if it was dropped. With every mic it depends on what you are looking to achieve with it, but the RE20 will provide any recording enginee... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-01-29.

I have seen this mic around and have used it various places for many years. It is not a new mic, but it has definitely stood the test of time because it is still in heavy use today after all these years. I like that it's got a very distinct sound. It's a dynamic mic so it isn't too trebly. It rolls off the low end so it is good for combattin... [read more on Audiofanzine]

webstersays rated this unit 4 on 2008-08-18.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000