Epiphone Les Paul Standard Reviews 5

Epiphone Les Paul Standard

Just fine. As I said, see my review of the wrong-handed model- they are the same, otherwise. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Steve_Boudreaux rated this unit 4 on 2011-08-02.

This has to be the best guitar you can buy for the money. I would recommend this guitar for anyone. Why spend $1200 for a gibson when you can get the same quality for $400? [read more on Audiofanzine]

Shawn rated this unit 5 on 2006-09-08.

I'd say if you really want a les paul and you dont have a spare $1000. get this guitar because it kicks ass, but you need new pick ups , the stock ones are lame. especially on rythm . But yeha ! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Andy D. rated this unit 3 on 2005-10-29.

FREAKIN AWESOME. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Clark rated this unit 5 on 2005-06-29.

This guitar overall, is a great deal. A REAL Les Paul (Remember, Les Paul is scripted on the headstock) for a price that everyone can afford. I know a lot of people complain about the weight, but its really oblivious to me. I think its because I play bass guitar in a band and I'm used to having a 10-pound bass hanging on my shoulder all the tim... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Robbie C. rated this unit 5 on 2005-01-07.

Seriously this is one of the best guitar you can buy with a small budget. You will maybe have to change the pickups if you want a better sound. That's a beautiful guitar, very similar to Gibson. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Gabriel11 rated this unit 5 on 2005-01-04.

i would recomend this guitar to anyone as it is a good hard sterdy guitar! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Adam rated this unit 5 on 2004-12-08.

Rock musician? stop deliberating, reguardless of style youll like it (unless your a pretentious gibson only player.that means YOU DANNY CANNON! And even they wouldnt notice the difference if the manufacturers name wasnt printed- stylishly- across the headstock. buy the feckin geetar, play it, go to the pub. SORTED,.....now i must piss, goodbye [read more on Audiofanzine]

CONNOLLY two-arms rated this unit 5 on 2004-12-05.

Overall, i love this guitar, im planning on buying either a gibson les paul studio or standard (nothing like the "real" thing). Even though im about to casually cast it aside, it has been there for most of my great moments in my band, and i will always be grateful to epiphone for making such a price friendly guitar that sounds so great. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Johnny rated this unit 4 on 2004-11-14.

If you want Les Paul tone....DONT BUY THIS GUITAR! If you want Les Paul qauality, looks, and wont mind forking over some extra cash, than this guitar is for YOU! In all my guitar is worth about $900. If you arent crazy bout Pauls but are considering this gtr i wounldnt reccomend this to you. go buy some fancy Jackson or Fender! However if you DO... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Osama Bin Ladin (i\'m still hiding!) rated this unit 5 on 2004-07-26.

This is definitley a great invesment and a good guitar for the money. They can be inconsistent so I suggest trying one out or purchasing from a place with a photo of the actual guitar itself instead of a stock photo.This is highly recommended as something to invest in. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Cory Curtis rated this unit 4 on 2004-07-20.

Overall a great guitar with a great sound and a great price that is almost as good as a gibson. I highly recomend purcahsing this because it looks great sounds great and just wont let you down. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Kevin Israel rated this unit 5 on 2004-07-10.

This is an excellent guitar. I've played many Gibson Standards and they sound just the same as the Epiphone models. The only reason to get a Gibson LP is just to have it for the name. If anything were to happen to this guitar I would replace it without hesitation. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Sam Hall rated this unit 4 on 2004-07-01.

a great guitar. a bit overpriced, but i got mine for $350 so i can't complain. great for 20 minute solos ;) [read more on Audiofanzine]

80\'s rock rulez rated this unit 5 on 2004-06-05.

I recommend this guitar to anyone who plays hard rock like ac/dc led zeppelin etc.I feel like a rockstar with this guitar and if you buy it you will too. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hard Ass Rock rated this unit 5 on 2004-05-16.

Excellent guitar. Buy one, with a skinny strap and bang out some zepellin! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Ben rated this unit 5 on 2004-04-30.

You cant go wrong for the money on these guitars. I own five Epiphones, ( a 2001 reissue '58 Korina Explorer, a '92 SG-400, A 2003 Les Paul {Transparent Amber} and a '99 Viola Bass. All are great guitars, and good enough to play anywhere in my opinion. [read more on Audiofanzine]

EDDY JAMES rated this unit 5 on 2004-04-09.

The Epiphone LP is great. Cosmetically it is jaw droppingly beautifull. Value wise it is definately a valuable investment in the never ending search for perfect tone. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Alma Rockstar rated this unit 4 on 2004-04-09.

I am very glad i got this guitar. It has the fat full tone that i absolutly need in a 3 piece band. I recommend it. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Eric guitarist of Last Chance rated this unit 5 on 2004-03-09.

This guitar was pretty good for its price. It would be a solid intermediate guitar. If you want true Gibson Les Paul quality, though, save up for the Gibson. The construction on the Epiphone was decent, though not as thorough as the Gibson. But if you're on a budget, or if you need a second guitar, this is a good bet. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Ellen rated this unit 3 on 2004-03-04.

This and Gibson are a blatant waste of money unless you get a really good custom shop Gibby. If you just have to have a name brand guitar, go with what most of the pros go with... a fender strat. It's more versatile, cheaper, and better made. Also, if you've already bought one of these, don't try to set it up by just adjusting the thumb wheel... [read more on Audiofanzine]

25years_inthebiz rated this unit 2 on 2004-02-24.

this is the 1 of the best guitars i own, ive got a vintage vj6 (cough) ESP ltd kh202 and a jackson ke3 kelly and it'll wipe the floor with all of these (cept the KH!) if you want all round versatility - i love it! [read more on Audiofanzine]

smithy rated this unit 5 on 2004-02-03.

Epiphone is every bit as good as a Gibson. The guy at the store said the only differences between the Epiphone and the gibson is the pickups,the inlays in the fret board(Gibson uses mother of pearl)and the parts for Epiphone are manufactured in Korea but set up in the US. The pickups give great sound and you can't tell the difference on the inl... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Ben Crouch rated this unit 5 on 2004-01-27.

This guitar saved me lots of money rocks jsut as good as hte best gibson...well okay maybe not hte best gibson but you get hte idea! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Mike B rated this unit 5 on 2004-01-23.

If you are in love wiht the les paul model, but dont have 2-3 grand to spend, then getting an epiphone will suit you just fine. Very well made, very beautiful guitar. I have a honeburst finish and the flames are huge. Overall an excellent buy. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Epiphone Les Paul Standard rated this unit 5 on 2004-01-22.

If anyone wants a new guitar get this, there superb, there also good guitars for either rock or blues, mostly a blues guitar. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Gibsons Rule! rated this unit 5 on 2004-01-08.

Bottomline The best brand there is. Go get one. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Chad Smith rated this unit 5 on 2004-01-06.

So, to summarize, This guitar rocks. I'd take an epiphone over a gibson any day. "why?" says the rich man. "Money" says me. [read more on Audiofanzine]

James Ocean rated this unit 5 on 2003-12-09.

This guitar is absolutely brilliant.Just to let you know, no one should expect the taste of a wine with the price of a beer! Of course it has adjustments and upgrades needed to be done to it but I can go along with the upgrades with my eyes closed on this guitar, whereas your hands would be tied with a Gibson. For people who say there is no diff... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Cagatay rated this unit 5 on 2003-12-03.

its good [read more on Audiofanzine]

Colin Squires rated this unit 5 on 2003-11-18.

I don't think much of Epiphone's SG and Les Paul lines; I think their archtop series (the Riviera and the Dot are especially sweet) tends to be superior. Still, it *is* a Les Paul, and if you don't like dealing with the feedback associated with semi-acoustics then this is one way to get a Les Paul for a reasonable price. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Derek Mok rated this unit 3 on 2003-11-17.

This guitar is great. It beats any strat Ive ever played for comfort, it beats any electric ive ever used for tone. It just blew me away. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Mason rated this unit 5 on 2003-08-18.

[read more on Audiofanzine]

M.Scott rated this unit 5 on 2003-07-09.

A beautiful, well playing and sweet sounding production guitar. Much more guitar than you pay for. [read more on Audiofanzine]

magic fingers rated this unit 5 on 2003-06-18.

If you see this guitar in a shop, play it, buy it, and I promise you that you won't regret, not buying it. It's worth it, believe me. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Rick Secchi rated this unit 5 on 2003-05-23.

This is an unbelievably great guitar for the price, I played my first gig with this guitar and will probably play my last with it too. I only wonder if I lucked out tremendously, if the wood is from some increadibly healthy, tall tree and the guys doing the set-up were in a really great state-of-mind the day this one went through. I hear Epiphon... [read more on Audiofanzine]

adumdubaddun rated this unit 5 on 2003-05-08.

this is a pretty good guitar for the price. they are inspectedby gibson, that i heard. It's a fucken fine looking guitar, well duh, it's a les paul. instead of spending 1500 on a gibson, you can spend 1/4 that price on an epiphone. the pickup really need to be changed if you want good sound. other then that it's worth it. i would recommend ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jayson Chan rated this unit 4 on 2003-03-14.

This guitar is a keeper for sure, and Im glad my wife picked this one up instead of the ebony one. I think it would be very hard to find a new guitar as nice as this one in that price range. Its front and center stage in my collection at the present time. [read more on Audiofanzine]

EDDY JAMES rated this unit 5 on 2003-02-08.

IF YOU CANN'T AFFORD A GIBSON BUT STILL FANCY A LES PAUL THEN DON'T HESITATE, GET ONE OF THESE [read more on Audiofanzine]

GAZZMAR rated this unit 5 on 2003-01-25.

So far this guitar has been perfect for me with its nice Sun-Burst color. I have never played a Real Gibson before so I can only say this is a 3. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Ryan rated this unit 3 on 2003-01-13.

I have played a few stock epis and heard the concerns about the electronics so had decided to upgrade one if I bought one. This guitar was already max upgraded and in the condition I wanted. It even had a very similar pick up combo to what I would have picked, and these work great. All in all a fabulous deal on a fabulous guitar that I am not af... [read more on Audiofanzine]

jick jagger rated this unit 5 on 2002-12-30.

It's a kickass guitar. Pick one up today! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Ryan rated this unit 5 on 2002-12-28.

Well what more to say.I really love my instrument.And I belive,so will the people who choose to buy it.If u want the classic LES PAUL SHAPE,TONE and you don't have too big a buget...GOOO FOR ITTTT!!!!!! [read more on Audiofanzine]

KHIZAR TAHSEEN rated this unit 5 on 2002-12-26.

Well, the guitar got me pissed on several occasions, and I have a love-hate relationship with it. Since I've played for several years on a very good guitar (Ibanez Artist with stock Dimarzio Pups), I may be a bit demanding. With everything I've changed now, it's an excellent guitar, yet I've spent more than 900$ to make it so. Nevertheless, for ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

VFace rated this unit 3 on 2002-12-03.

If your having second thoughts about buying this guitar, buy it you'll be more than happy with your purchase. [read more on Audiofanzine]

DK rated this unit 5 on 2002-12-02.

Great looking axe with solid playability. Great for the price though gibson, is really lacking in the quality control department as late. I love the Les Paul sound and also have a Fender Standard strat which is about the same price range. Go for the strat just better made qaulity for this group of quitars, however i cannot speak for the big d... [read more on Audiofanzine]

BobbyPols rated this unit 4 on 2002-11-28.

A very good guitar in all respects, change the tuning system, costs about 40$ and perhaps the pickups, even though they're very good and you've got a first grade guitar... One thing though, make sure you buy the Zhech version. NOT the Korean one. The Korean one is not nearly as good, and none of the comments i've made will correspond with a K... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Daniel Parmeggiani Gitlesen rated this unit 5 on 2002-10-07.

great value for money.. superb tone.it jus owns so much. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Luke Hatton rated this unit 4 on 2002-09-27.

horrible overpriced guitar. epiphone made a big mistake. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Dan Malley rated this unit 1 on 2002-05-23.

Very good guitar, especially for what I paid for it. Very happy with it but still want a good Strat, too! Should be lots of these Epiphones available used. [read more on Audiofanzine]

David Hillsman rated this unit 4 on 2002-05-12.

If you think you want to buy this guitar, you are right. Buy it. I love the damn thing. No way in hell I'm gonna pay 2grand or so for a Gibson Les Paul as long as this is around. This is, after all a REAL Les Paul (with his name on it) - it is not a copy. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Axe Murderer rated this unit 5 on 2002-04-08.

As I become a better guitar player, and at the same time more knowledgable about guitars in general, I am more and more pleased with my choice. Obviously there are better guitars out there, but for roughly $500.00, I don't believe there's one that is better than the Epiphone Les Paul Standard. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Seth Ruffer rated this unit 5 on 2002-03-18.

Great for the money(you can always haggle), and it is one of the best guitars i have ever played. If you cant afford the gibson version, and even if you can, get this...you will be extremely satisfied. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jon Doe rated this unit 5 on 2002-03-02.

It's great gear for beggining playing blues, jazz or low overdrived grunge, metal. You love Faith No More or some jazz mild guitar sound - try this guitar, you'll find a music soul in this gear, I'll love the feeling you touch it... (Sorry for my English - I am Polish ;P) [read more on Audiofanzine]

Adam Strzelecki rated this unit 5 on 2002-02-04.

Bottom line: The Korean made electronics are crappy. Assembly line made guitars, even though expensive, are sometimes not at all cut out for what they are made out to be. The guitar now sounds fantastic thanks to a very good repair person at Mars. He realigned the bridges and pickups and did the repairs talked about above. [read more on Audiofanzine]

vvutever rated this unit 4 on 2001-12-21.

All in all it's a good guitar, I'm glad I bought it, once I get the new pickups I would be obliged to challenge a gibson standard. I think it's worth the money I paid. It works very well on my cybertwin, which is not a big deal, but i have an extremely crappy leem amp and the guitar makes it a little less crappy i think. [read more on Audiofanzine]

duffmckagan rated this unit 4 on 2001-12-13.

Easy to play Awesome rock / lead / solo guitar!!!!! I look great when i play the guitar! This is a guitar that you keep for a lifetime and i would definitely recommend this guitar. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Epiphone Les Paul Standard rated this unit 5 on 2001-12-03.

Lots of bang for the buck. A well made guitar that sounds excellent and plays well. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Greg S. rated this unit 5 on 2001-11-20.

I would recommend to everyone to buy this guitar, i had a les paul studio and i loved that until i had it signed by noel gallagher from oasis so i had to buy a new one so i didnt reck it!!! but instead i bought the standard and the difference is fuckin astoundin!!! but i would give the studio 5 out of 5 also. in my ratings the LP standard should... [read more on Audiofanzine]

RKID rated this unit 5 on 2001-11-03.

The bottom line is the Epiphone Les Paul standard is a great sounding guitar for a good price. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jason rated this unit 5 on 2001-09-09.

Buy this, not a true Gibson unless you're rich. I love it and I even have a Gibson. Change the pickups if you are picky. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Scott rated this unit 5 on 2001-07-30.

It feels good, looks good, and sounds good. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jason K. rated this unit 5 on 2001-07-09.

If you want a Gibson Les Paul, again give the Epiphone a try. In my opinion it plays just as well at the fraction of the price. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Anthony Somebody rated this unit 5 on 2001-06-26.

I am still shocked that I came across such a steal today. considering that lefthanded axes usually run you more than rightys! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Russ rated this unit 5 on 2001-06-26.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000