Fender Hot Rod - Fender Deluxe Reviews 4

Fender Hot Rod - Fender Deluxe

The Hot Rod Deluxe serves best as one of those amps you buy for $300 on Craigslist, take home, do some mods to it, upgrade the speaker, and use it for a small gig amp where most of your non-clean tones will be coming from pedals. I don't consider it an intrinsically versatile amplifier. The Hot Rod Deluxe III is said to have made considerable... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Eroachguitar rated this unit 3 on 2012-10-01.

All in all I think the Fender Hot Rod Deluxe is a decent workhorse amp for some looking for a versatile amp with good clear Fender cleans and a reasonable drive tone. They can be had for about $500 used which is a fair deal. I'm not the biggest fan of the single speaker layout but it works well enough for what it is. [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 4 on 2011-10-31.

The Fender Hot Rod Deluxe is a marvelous idea in theory, but in practice, the amp is bound to make you rip your hair out of your head. In using PCB construction methods, Fender is able to have a well-designed circuit be manufactured and sold for a very low price. The problem is in the design - the tube sockets are mounted directly ON the PC ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

heads on fire rated this unit 4 on 2011-09-08.

If you are on the market for a good tube amp that has two moderate low gain but usable gain then this might be the amp for you. That is if it is the newest model. The older models had an unusable dirty channel. I would recommend getting this amp is you need a decent clean amp that has a good tone for pedals. I gigged a lot with my amp but alw... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 4 on 2011-06-30.

What I like most about it is the versatility the clean channel offers. I have plugged numerous amounts of pedals into the front end, and it has yet to respond badly to any of them. I can go from an Eric Johnson style smooth lead, using i.e.: Any glassy OD pedal MXR Carbon Copy (plus some reverb from the amp) to full on death using i.e.: Blac... [read more on Audiofanzine]

kasperjensen rated this unit 4 on 2011-03-15.

This amp is definitely a case of function over form. The tones work for rehearsals, like I said before. I wouldn't record anything with this amp, though. I also wouldn't really want to perform live with it. This might be good for up-and-comers more than seasoned vets. Think about that when purchasing. [read more on Audiofanzine]

mooseherman rated this unit 4 on 2010-04-10.

Still I have to say that this amp is to me the best choice in its price range ? especially when it?s being used as a good sounding power amp with speakers (meaning that the true sound character comes from the pedal board). It is equally suited for guitarists who are looking for a nice, warm clean sound. [read more on Audiofanzine]

phraseland rated this unit 5 on 2009-02-02.

Exceptional sound and quality. [read more on Audiofanzine]

SP- rated this unit 5 on 2004-08-04.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000