Gibson Les Paul Standard Reviews 5

Gibson Les Paul Standard

I highly recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a good solid mahogany wood guitar that is built for a gigging musician or recording musician. At new you can find his guitar for ride around $2600 which is a great price for this guitar. It's in America made classic and great guitar for anyone looking to step up their instrument level to a who... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 4 on 2011-09-13.

The guitars are pretty resonant, and I attribute that to Gibson stepping up their QC a bit from the past few years. That said, I highly recommend you play these first as they're extremely love or hate with the chambering that's going on in the newer Standards. Pay attention to the fretwork and nut as well as those are the most common issues wi... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 4 on 2011-06-24.

There are a lot of things to like about the Les Paul. It is a Gibson Les Paul so it will hold its value well. It has the classic looks and feel of an old school Les Paul. Modern sensabilities have taken some of the tone from the Standard. People complaining that they were too heavy have the wrong mindset. Some things have to be sacrificed for to... [read more on Audiofanzine]

tjon901 rated this unit 4 on 2011-06-07.

All in all I think the Les Paul Standard 2008 from Gibson is not a bad guitar, but ultimately they should call it something else. The myriad of feature changes makes it very different from what a Les Paul Standard should be and ultimately this LP is more like a modern take on the classic design. The price on these is high, about $2600 CAD, a... [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 3 on 2011-04-28.

All things considered I have been playing music for 26 years and have played many different basses, In my opinion The Gibson Les Paul bass is the very best out there and well worth the price. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jerry rated this unit 5 on 2005-04-17.

I am not sure of the price today of the Gibson Les Paul Standard Bass, But I think it is worth every penny. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Jerry rated this unit 5 on 2005-01-01.

this is a great guitar and it will serve you well for as long as you own it. Les Pauls are a little expensive but well worth the money. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Dan rated this unit 5 on 2004-08-07.

If your saving up for a better guitar, wait the extra while and buy this one! They're expensive but worth it! Also if you can get one cheap like i did, BUY IT! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Dan Traudt rated this unit 5 on 2004-06-08.

This was the most satisfying purchase of a guitar I have ever made. I simply love the Les Paul design, playability, and tone. I've owned this guitar for almost a year, and play it for hours a day. It just seems to get better and better. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Tim rated this unit 5 on 2004-04-16.

This guitar is a need, i have tried many guitars and the tone on this guitar beats them all. The guitar is too heavy but you can make it comfy. This Les Paul has the ultimate rock vibe, tone and the best guitars inspire you to play better this guitar is the best! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Peter rated this unit 5 on 2004-03-26.

its probably personal taste, gibson fans would love it. in honesty prs has won me over. paul reed smith is #1 [read more on Audiofanzine]

roswell rick rated this unit 4 on 2003-12-22.

The pickups on the 77 LP were dogs. I had to replace them with something else. So, at the time, I bought the first reissue humbuckers from Gibson that Tim Shaw had redesigned. From what I read, they are like the highly desired PAF Hum-B's but the coil wire is an orange color and slightly different in the paint process. At the time, I believe t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hound Dog rated this unit 5 on 2003-12-05.

Reinforces the notion that you get what you pay for. Best guitar I ever owned. Recommend to anyone looking for humbucker/'fatter' sound. [read more on Audiofanzine]

http://www.stereosoul.com rated this unit 5 on 2003-12-03.

This guitar is the best.If you are looking to buy a double humbucker guitar and want a guitar for life that mite cost u an arm and leg try this guitar out. I have never been happier. You will never want to touch your strat again. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Edge rated this unit 5 on 2003-11-23.

I own an American Strat and I love it. It's light, compfortable and easy to play but it just can't match the depth of sound and sustain of the Les Paul. Every time I play I have to pinch myself to make sure I'm not dreaming. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Donew03 rated this unit 5 on 2003-11-09.

For a solid body guitar, this is a fine instrument and will serve it's purpose as a slide guitar for many years to come. Luckily, I can afford such a nice guitar, but many people cannot. It seems to me that Gibson could find a way to produce these Les Pauls in a way that maintains quality while at the same time makes them more affordable for ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Guitarplayingmann rated this unit 5 on 2003-11-03.

I would definitely recommend the Standard to anyone serious about getting a good Les Paul. It sounds much better than the other Les Pauls. Although it is expensive, what you pay for is the better worksmanship, quality, and overall sound. I'd also say that the Classic isn't bad, it's more of a 'any old Les Paul.' It's just a regular Les Paul tone... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Invert D. Ear rated this unit 5 on 2003-01-06.

IF YOU HAVE THE "READIES" AND CAN JUSTIFY THE COST TO THE WIFE, THEY RETAIL IN THE UK AT AROUND 1500 AFTER DISCOUNTS AND FIGHTS!!! GET ONE, HEY F***ING ROCK MAN!!!! I GIVE IT 6 OUT OF 5!! [read more on Audiofanzine]

JOHN E HALL(AGAIN!) rated this unit 5 on 2002-07-03.

All in all the Gibson Les Paul Standard electric guitar is the definition of greatness. You can achieve many great sounds from this guitar. If you are looking for quality and great sound, then I would definitly suggest picking up a Les Paul. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Dennis T. Norton, Jr. rated this unit 5 on 2002-02-16.

I have no problems buying online from MF...super service, credit and prompt delivery. The catalogs just rock! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Randall Bryan rated this unit 5 on 2001-12-02.

Absolutely. Solid guitars. Les Paul's are a good buy, an investment. They will go up in value, and provide the warmth and depth of tone you can't find in a Stratocaster or other single/double-coil guitars. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Brian rated this unit 5 on 2001-06-27.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000