Gibson SG Standard Heritage Cherry Reviews 4

Gibson SG Standard Heritage Cherry

This guitar is fantastic, a true classic. There is a reason why this guitar is one of the most enduring and iconic designs of all time - it rocks! The SG Standard is a true winner all the way around, and I would recommend that every guitar player try one out at some point. [read more on Audiofanzine]

heads on fire rated this unit 5 on 2011-11-26.

The overall sound of the guitar is everything you would expect from a Les Paul. Every note shines through out of this instrument. I play it through a Mesa/Boogie Mark V and it basically sounds as perfect as I had imagined it would in my head. You can never go wrong with a Gibson, I definitely recommend getting this one. The SG Gibson Standard is... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ericthegreat rated this unit 4 on 2011-11-25.

I highly recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a good professional high gain or recording guitar. It has a great look very good balance and seal throughout the body and next of the guitar. It's a beautiful color of red anxious to warm tone as well. [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 4 on 2011-09-15.

I highly recommend this guitar to anyone looking for a good players guitar that can be used for recording and even large amounts of gigging. This is a great guitar for someone who needs a solid instrument for a bedroom player as well. They are readily available in the used section and classifieds. And you can also find them new online or in mo... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 5 on 2011-09-15.

You can find these guitars for right around $1199. This is a steal of the price for what you get out of this guitar. I highly recommend this guitar to anyone is looking for the 60's sound and the vintage five of course with the vintage look with white vintage paint job. I have all of the guitar is the Gibson has put out an recent years this is o... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 4 on 2011-08-18.

The people who play SG's swear by them. Famous artists that play SG's usually only play SG's. Some of these artists include Derek Trucks, Tony Iommi and Frank Zappa. If you are looking to buy an SG I recommend trying one out first. Check the fretwork and the tuning stability if you can. Other than that an SG is as solid as any other Gibson guitar. [read more on Audiofanzine]

tjon901 rated this unit 4 on 2011-05-15.

If you're looking for an SG, I highly recommend picking this one up over the other models. It looks great, sounds great and feels pretty nice too. Pay particular attention to the fretwork as Gibsons can be very hit or miss when it comes to fretwork. Also make sure it stays in tune as Gibsons tend to have issues with improperly cut nuts. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 4 on 2011-05-03.

The SG Standard is a great sounding and playing guitar that offers a great alternative to the heavy and somewhat clunky Les Paul. The price of about $1,400 CAD is very reasonable for what you are getting I feel, and on the used market they go for sub $800 prices on occasion, which is great. My biggest gripe with the SG is consistency. I've playe... [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 4 on 2011-04-28.

I've been using the Gibson SG Standard for about five years and it is definitely one of my favorite guitars to use for recording rock music. The price of this guitar is very reasonable considering the top notch quality that come along with it. The crunch and bite from this guitar makes it perfect for rock and roll, even though it would work fine... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-04-21.

I've been playing this guitar for a year now exclusively and I love it more everyday. The neck is amazing, the tone is unmatched, and the craftsmanship is awe-inspiring. From the minute I picked up this guitar I knew I had a winner. I love everything about it except that the G tuning peg became slightly loose but I got it replaced at the store I... [read more on Audiofanzine]

swmcv2007 rated this unit 5 on 2009-01-21.

Its just such a nice guitar, some people say you can buy a cheaper gibson and its the same, my brother owns a sg voodoo seris which cost 950 only 100 less than mine, there is no binding, or laquer finish, and it feels sort of the same in your hands, just like the faded sg's, it is about the same to play, but it just feels cheaper, it no inlays, ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Matt Brown rated this unit 5 on 2003-07-01.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000