Ibanez TS-9 Tube Screamer Reviews 5

Ibanez TS-9 Tube Screamer

I've owned a few of these over the years and I wouldn't hesitate for a second to buy another if anything happened to this one. It's very solid built, looks and sounds great, and is a pedal that always stays in my chain regardless of what kind of music I'm playing. I'd recommend it to anyone playing jazz, blues, all the way to rock and metal. [read more on Audiofanzine]

jkessel rated this unit 5 on 2012-05-01.

Overall this pedal is built very well and should stand the test of time in the durability department. Unless you like a very midrange heavy overdrive or have an amp that is equalized to handle the pedal, I would only suggest using this pedal as a solo boost into an already overdriven tube amp. I feel this pedal is overpriced based on it?s name... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Fireguy8402 rated this unit 3 on 2011-12-23.

All in all I think the Ibanez TS-9 is a great reissue of the classic TS808 Tube Screamer. For those players looking for a great boost that has good dynamics, a pure and true tone and excellent signal quality, the TS-9 is definitely worth a shot. At about $120 new, they're priced fairly for a new unit, though if you shop around online they can be... [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 4 on 2011-09-03.

I love my TS9, and I'd recommend it to anyone looking for an OD or distortion pedal regardless of musical style. This pedal will do it all. It's build to last a lifetime, and the bright green won't get lost on stage! I'd get an adapter for it, as the sound quality degrades the weaker the battery gets. It eats cheap 9 volts though, so don't skimp! [read more on Audiofanzine]

killerkgprime rated this unit 5 on 2011-08-31.

This is the sound that you?ve heard on countless albums and the pedal you can expect to see on every other board. That said, it?s worth noting that there are quite a few different versions of this one. There is quite a bit of discussion about the differences between the older ones and the current production TS9s. In my own opinion, it is a lot e... [read more on Audiofanzine]

denied rated this unit 4 on 2011-07-31.

The Tube Screamer is the standard for all general purpose overdrive pedals. It has an infinite number of applications it can be used for. If can be used for just its gain or as a clean boost. It can be used to tighten up the gain of an already dirty amp or it can be used as a dirty channel on a clean amp. If you are looking for a good solid over... [read more on Audiofanzine]

tjon901 rated this unit 5 on 2011-05-26.

This is a great product that retains its used value as it's one of the most impersonated overdrive pedals out there today. Known for both blues use and high gain metal, it's quite versatile! Though it is not true bypass. It is still very good at what it does. Good, sturdy, reliable and consistent tone! [read more on Audiofanzine]

nickname009 rated this unit 5 on 2011-03-28.

The TS9 has been heard on many great recordings and can be used effectively as a rock/metal boost, or a straight up blues overdrive. That said, I feel that there are literally hundreds of better overdrives on the market, and one of them (possibly one of the best ever) is the TS9's big brother, the TS808. Skip this one and go for the ultimate ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

glassjaw7 rated this unit 4 on 2011-03-28.

I would like to give it a perfect but the reissues need some tweaking to sound closer to the originals. I like the mod that I had done on it and it fits well with the sound I'm going for. It is probably my go to pedal when it comes to getting a little bit more hair on my tone. I also like the Boss Sd-1 and OD-2 for similar applications. I would... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 5 on 2011-03-19.

I've been using the Ibanez TS-9 Tube Screamer every since I started playing guitar about eight years ago. It is the quintessential overdrive pedal and definitely lives up to its name and hype. It isn't all that expensive and is really a great deal considering how great this pedal sounds and how easy it is to use. If you are playing any type o... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-08-09.

I really love this thing. Some people can't stand it but for them Boss built the Metal Zone. It adds just that bit of punch and dirt I need at times and I can handle it very well with the volume knob on my guitar. If you plan to do this try to turn the Tubescreamer up a bit so when you dial back you won't get lost in the mix. It is always good t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

phraseland rated this unit 5 on 2008-12-05.

Overall for the price of admission I'd choose it over things like Boss' Distortion or Blues Driver pedals, but this one will cost a bit more than those. It's a piece of rock gear that spans back to the early 80s and then before that the TS-8 (real gems to find). [read more on Audiofanzine]

pdecirce rated this unit 5 on 2008-08-07.

I've been using mine off and on for a few years now. The thing I like the least is having to always unplug it so it doesn't kill the battery or keep sucking power through the AC adaptor. I do dig how it has true bypass, so it doesn't color my tone when turned of like other pedals do, sort of like rolling the tone knob back a notch or two. I've n... [read more on Audiofanzine]

goodbyebluesky rated this unit 5 on 2008-04-01.

Bottom Line is try it out. See what you think. I personally think this pedal could be an asset on anyone's rig. [read more on Audiofanzine]

James rated this unit 4 on 2003-08-09.

This pedal is a must for any blues freak. GO BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Mark rated this unit 5 on 2002-01-10.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000