Lotus Strat Copy Reviews 3

black/silver fade, ghs boomer 11's. been playing for 9 years. Acoustic, electric, bass, trombone, and piano. Been in a few bands. Currently play electric for local church.

I aquired this unit from a local guitar shop for about 150. Was looking for a strat style guitar.

http://www.ircmusicstores.com

The guitar is heavy which adds to sustain greatly if you have the right pickups. The neck is very easy to play and smooth if have a maple fretboard on mine. Stays in tune very well only if you use 10's or 11's I've noticed. It can take a beating.

Electronics were horribly noisy. The tuners were farely bad. So I spent 25 dollars and bought some new ones at guitar center they work great now. I also replaced the electronics with vintage fender noiseless hotrodded with new controls as well. set up the bridge and nut. No complaints now. I could complain that the tremelo makes it go out of tune, but you spend 1200 on an made in US strat and it will do the same thing. all in all maybe spent 325 on a strat that is equally as good as any fender ive played, and the standard starts at 350 for the cheapest.

I was lucky and got one of the higher quality woods. Heavy and durable. Finish is cheaper, but it can take a beating. I play this equally as much as my 700 dollar jackson, and 700 dollar hagstrom.

great for a beginner if you can get it under 200, or if you want a project. Bad if you don't know anything about setting up a guitar or anyone to help you, or if you just want a guitar ready to go right then and there. I love mine...




jdempler rated this unit 3 on 2011-09-26.

ive been playing for about 15 years now,mostly metal and hard rock but after awhile it gets old so ya gotta play some blues and jazz

i bought this at a pawn shop for $45 and could not be happier

you want a good cheap guitar with killer sustain look no further.you could throw this out of a 10th story window n still play it for years

the pickups BLOW!!! i suggest swappin em out immediatetly

these might weigh a ton but thats awesome!they'll handle anything ya throw at em and i take that as a good thing

bottom line switch out the pickups and ya got a bad ass guitar...to all you lotus haters i DO have an epiphone and a squier and ill pick this up everytime over an epiphone .A name means nothing .I highly recommend a lotus ive had mine for years and play it at least twice a week along with my 2 strats and my wolfgang, which i play more often,but my lotus stays in heavy rotation which should say alot!and if you dont like yours xxbleorgxx@aol.com ill give ya an offer for it

Bleorg rated this unit 3 on 2008-05-04.

have been playing bass for about 15 years, maybe 2 or 3 with guitar, and music styles range from funk to heavy metal to ska, etc.

Just bought today at a cross-town CD/guitar shop called Woodyz, it was an intriguing "toilet seat" faded white, and it reminded me a lot of an Yngwie Malmsteen Strat, only faded, with a black pickguard, and black hardware. Price: 50$ (now you see why I really bought it)

The neck was actually withstood a lot of fast action, mine came with a spring-loaded Floyd Rose, which, strangely enough, did not go out of tune, no matter how much I flailed it around.

terrible pickups, give off ridiculously insane amounts of feedback. mine had many cracks and nicks, mostly around where the neck is bolted on. also, the tremolo's hole to put the bar in was too big for any of mine, even though it still sufficed. bad tuners, when I was first diddling around with it, it would pop out of tune every now and then.

It's actually a pretty decent crafted guitar, it would go up well against some of my ibanez guitars, providing you have the right setup. Definitely will have to replace those pickups, though. Whoever wound those were either narcoleptic or just lazy. Also, I was quite perplexed on how a Floyd Rose would manage to work so well without those tuner things on the top of the neck (dunno what they're called; you use an allen wrench to tighten them?)

It's a very good backup guitar if you are really desperate. It needs a few minor modifisations, but it's nothing that can't be fixed. O)) ~o_O

Tyler Burleson rated this unit 3 on 2006-11-23.

I paid $100 for this guitar on eBay.

I play this guitar through an old Guild Maverick tube amp and a Metal Zone pedal. This guitar is very easy to play and has awesome tone.

There is not much I do not like, except for maybe the quality of the finish as you can see sandpaper marks under the paint.

Overall, especially for what I paid for the guitar, it is excellent!

This guitar is great! It really cranks, was very inexpensive as I cannot afford to spend alot on guitars and meets my needs. I also have a Lotus Les Paul copy and am really impressed with it as well! When I can play better, I will get better guitars, but for the moment, the Lotus is awesome!

Radman rated this unit 5 on 2004-05-08.

I got this at a pawn shop nearly 10 years ago. i paid about 80 bucks.

i liked the color at first, thats what drew me to this guitar. its a kinda off blueish-green and reminded me of the old greenish colored fender mustangs. I tried it out and it had MASSIVE feedback.. good for the musical mood i was in at the time.. Its easty to play, seems like the neck is smaller than a real strat.

I now dont like the horiffic sound from those pickups. its a cheap guitar and OK for beginners, i use it as a backup to my fender mustang.

its not bad.. i have dropped it numerous times and havent had much trouble with it.

I know this guitar gets slaughtered on this site.. but overall for someone lookin for a cheap guitar, or learin to play its not bad... just dont stand ANYWHERE near your amp :)

Mike Chickenhead(of the Urinal Mints) rated this unit 3 on 2004-05-08.

Local music store. $299 w/ peavey 15w practice amp, case, cable, set of strings and guitar set up by guitar tech. What a deal!

Plays nice, action is as good as any strat of higher price. Lightweight yet not cheap feeling. Five way switch gives you alot of tone choice. Not what you expect from an entry level strat.

If you use the tremelo it doesn't return to anything near in tune. Tuners seem a little cheap, but what do you expect from an inexpensive guitar.

Beautiful finish, mine is silver metallic and black sunburst. Nice fit at neck. No glue or residue or runs in paint. Frets where smoothed by the tech during setup so no snags. Pearloid pickguard. Nice presence.

Can't beat this guitar for the price. Plays better than the "squire" strat. I've had the guitar for over two years and have never had a problem with it. Stays in tune as long as you stay away from tremelo. If I could have anything different, better tremelo and tuners. Would make a great guitar to "hot rod". Play one if you get a chance, just to see that this can be a surprisingly fun guitar. GREAT first guitar.

Ed Gierok rated this unit 5 on 2004-02-23.

I bought the guitar used at a pawn shop because I am in the process of learning different styles. $60.00

It looks good and seems to be quite rugged.

It was made cheeply, so all of the knobs and such are of low quality. It tends to go out of tune during play.

Cheep tuners and tone and volume knobs. Not too heavy or too badly balanced.

I got pretty much what I expected, a low cost guitar that I can learn a few things on and then replace with a quality instrument.

Raymond Bryde rated this unit 3 on 2004-02-20.

Local Guitar shop, just because-$100

nice weight, looks great

cheap tuners

great condition, custom

not a bad guitar, I play it at my shows all the time

Zack Tralin rated this unit 4 on 2003-04-14.

My dad got it for my birthday dont know how much he paid for it

It had some good sounds and an allright tone but it hummed and wouldnt stay in tune

it hummed from the pickups and didnt stay in tune very long and was also very heavy

it was built tough

it sucked

Nick Bryant rated this unit 1 on 2002-12-10.

I got this guitar at Madison Music company formerly located on State Street. The base price was $150 but I got 10% off b/c of Maxwell Street Days.

It's got some nice strings on it right now. It kinda looks like a stratocaster. It was cheap. It has a pickguard! If you replace everything including the body it may make a decent guitar. It came with a whammy bar. When it is distorted through a Digitech RP100, Crate amp and and old Peavy PA system it kinda sounds wierd. It's light. Great for exploring the insides of a guitar. Pickup position 1 is half decent for some funk music.

The pickups hum. It doesn't stay in tune. There's a lot of hollow space in the guitar. After a year the plastic everywhere shows wear. It makes my amp fart. It doesn't sound good.

All the parts are cheap. It holds together. The pickups, tuners, neck, and body are low quality.

Overall it's a great guitar... ...for me to poop on!

Uriah Rinzel rated this unit 1 on 2002-07-09.

I aquired this unit because I needed something to play and it was the cheapest, closest thing.

I like the fact that when you throw it against bricks walls and cement floors it barely scratches.

I don't like the way it sounds. I dont like the high buzz that comes from evey pick up. I dont like the way it requires 500 psi of force on the fretboard to play a note. I dont like the fact that it always goes out of tune. I dont like the fact that i wasted 120$ on it. I dont like the fact that it weighs 300 lbs

Its a sturdy guitar but as for quality it sucks

I hate this guitar

John rated this unit 1 on 2001-12-11.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000