Mesa Boogie 100W 3 channel Dual Rectifier Reviews 4

Honestly there isn't anything I can complain about. Sure it can be fizzy and muddy, but that's more a byproduct of user error. The Dual Rectifier is a great sounding and surprisingly versatile head that's built like a tank and will be reliable gig after gig. The fixed bias makes it super easy to maintain and a great first head. The biggest se... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ejendres rated this unit 4 on 2011-10-18.

All in all I can see why this amplifier has sold thousands over the years and been seen around the world... it's a great sounding metal amplifier that has enough great and usable features for a gigging musician. While I wouldn't RECOMMEND it for things like rock/hard rock per se... it certainly does a decent enough job with those sorts of tones ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 4 on 2011-08-10.

At new these amps come in at around $1900, which is a great price for an amp that will probably out live you. These amps are virtually indestructible. They are build with such standards and quality that it would take a lot of abuse to dismantle this amp. I would recommend any person who need a great sounding high gain amplifier to check out t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 5 on 2011-07-05.

The Mesa/Boogie Dual Rectifier three channel head is a great amp, but now that the new 2010 Rectifiers have come out, I recommend getting that instead. It's a much improved version of this amp that fixes all the issues I listed above. That said, if you have this amp already, there's no huge reason to go run out and buy the latest 2010 model. ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 4 on 2011-03-30.

I really do love the gain channel....with tweaking, its a great amp, but its not plug and play, and never will be. Overall I'd recommend it if you must go new, but I'd recommend a older dual channel recto over this. Especially for the money I know my rating is low, and its not that its a bad amp its just that I feel I'd rather have others for t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

PurposeToMelody rated this unit 4 on 2011-03-19.

The recto is an amp any guitar player would own. So many records and professionals have used this amp for their main tone. Much like the Mark series and the Roadster and Road King this is a heavy modern rock amp. It can do some bluesy stuff too so it does not hold anything back. Given the chance to pick one up on the used market I definitely wou... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 5 on 2011-03-18.

The one thing I don't like about the Dual Rectifier is the effects loop. (which Boogie claims to have improved in the latest revision) The parallel design doesn't allow the dry signal to be completely taken out, therefore I can never attain a completely wet mix with my time-based effects. This makes the amp slightly difficult to use for lead ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

glassjaw7 rated this unit 4 on 2011-03-16.

I needed an amplifier that gave me a wide range/choice of interesting sounds. Previously I have used Marshalls (whatever the task in hand may have been) but have increasingly found them limited. Following a bit of research I discovered the 3 channel dual rectifier at a great price at www.gak.co.uk... under 1,800 delivered.

The amp is hand built to an exellent spec. Very stylish to look at with every sound that you could possibly want and a very solid, high quality build . Fistly there is channel one - clean, sparkly, warm tones with a mini toggle switch that selects CLEAN or PUSHED. Clean speaks for itself. Pushed is that lovely slightly overdriven sound that, through the channel's dedicated pre-amp section can be aggressive or more muted depending on your own preference - the amp doesn't restrict your choice. Secondly there is channel two (surprise!) the toggle switches between RAW, VINTAGE & MODERN - it does exactly what you might think in each selection. Tons of gain is available here and the EQ path is fantastic. Channel three (you didn't see that coming did ya?) has the same three choice toggle switch selection with even more gain. If that isn't enough for you (EH!) it also has an array of knobs on the rear pannel for effects loop choices and even a toggle switch that allows you to change from that lovely valve setting to a silicon diode setting (although why you'd want to is totally beyond me). If you here a guitar sound that you like you'll be able to approximate it with this great amplifier (don't listen to the doubters that claim this is a new metal amp - it can be... but only if you want!)

In the higher gain modes (MODERN) there is a slight, almost digital sounding edge to the sound... you know, like a bright edge to the gain. It's not unpleasant and not restricting, so I don't even know why I mentioned it! Oh! and the EQ section of each channel is slightly different and takes a little time to get used to... it didn't make me cry though.

As I have said, it's hand built with a patterned, steel crome front, crome knobs, leather corner protectors, high quality valves... I can't fault it's construction... well... you won't want to scratch it or bump it... if that's a critisism... if you're like me you'll want to rap it up in cotton wool when it's not in use.

I wouldn't buy another amplifier. If it fell out of it's cotton wool bandage and smashed into a million pieces, I would rather face an overdraft charge or threatening letters from my credit card company than do without buying a brand new one. Even debtors prison wouldn't deter me!!

Rage rated this unit 5 on 2004-09-04.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000