Peavey 5150 Guitar Amplifier Head Reviews 5

Peavey 5150 Guitar Amplifier Head

This is a great amplifier in the pantheon of screaming rock classics. This is a fantastic amp for any subgenre of rock from the late 60s until now. There are certainly other amps that can get more tones, or can offer more glitz and glamour, but for a meat and potatoes player, this is the head. Highly recommended. [read more on Audiofanzine]

heads on fire rated this unit 5 on 2011-11-04.

All in all I think the Peavey 5150 is a truly cool high gain amp. Though it might be a bit of a one trick pony, it does that trick extremely well. It's perfect for the modern metal player who needs serious doses of high gain tones at high volumes. They can be had for about $700 used if you look which is a very good price for a high gain, great s... [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 4 on 2011-11-01.

The 5150 is so famed it's hard to completely tell you every detail about it because you most likely already know. It's a metal amp, a great one with an overdrive, and has become the industry standard high gain amp for metal players. Is it versatile? I wouldn't say so. The cleans are nothing to write home about and I don't see any blues/jazz ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

nickname009 rated this unit 5 on 2011-08-24.

These amps can be found cheap and are great to have around even for a backup. They are also built tough to withstand constant abuse and volume.This amp has fallen from the top of a full stack and still works. I have had the same tubes in this amp for probably close to five years and it still sounds good. My other amps sound better overall but I ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

wwhhhaatt rated this unit 5 on 2011-07-21.

I have been recommending these amps to people for years, and for good reason. You can get them dirt cheap on the used market and they sound GREAT! I keep buying more expensive amps to try them out, and keep coming back to the 5150. With this amp and a 2 Channel Mesa Dual Recto, you're able to nail just about every high gain tone ever recorded... [read more on Audiofanzine]

MatrixClaw rated this unit 5 on 2011-03-19.

Even to this day, the 5150 is one of the most utilized amps in heavy metal. This isn't just for the EVH fanboys, and it can actually do more than just metal. Pair it up with some Greenback speakers, put it on the crunch channel, and you can get a great blues/rock sound. While it lacks overall versatility in terms of functions, it is one of th... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Hatsubai rated this unit 5 on 2011-03-15.

For an amp head of this caliber, the Peavey 5150 Head has been set a pretty reasonable price. Of course you need a speaker cabinet to go along with it, but Peavey speaker cabinets aren't too expensive either depending on which one that you choose. I'd recommend this head for lead guitarists over rhythm ones, as this amp really seems to cater t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2010-01-24.

In all I spent $420 on a big monster tube amp, that sounds good and could be toted to a gig. Combined with the $330 carvin cabinet, I have a complete rig that costed me under $800. To me thats a lot of bang for the buck [read more on Audiofanzine]

Ben rated this unit 4 on 2002-05-06.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000