Peavey Rage 158 Reviews 4

Peavey Rage 158

This amp is good for being loud all the time even when you not playing the feedback is too much for me. If you can fine tune this thing and like the sound you get out of it, go for it, but if you like to change sounds often or just need a better amp in general, get one of the earlier spiders (series II or III) they are way better and a better va... [read more on Audiofanzine]

yoTrakkz rated this unit 4 on 2011-11-09.

Sevens across the board. I like the amp, but again, the Line 6 Spider series is a better buy for the price range. I liked my Rage growing up, but Line 6 wasn't around then. The Rage works for practice - the external input is a nice bonus. If I was given this amp, or if it was dirt dirt cheap, I'd probably buy one and use it just for sentimental ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

heads on fire rated this unit 4 on 2011-10-25.

Peavey has since discontinued these amps and are now focusing on there Vypyr series which has now become a huge hit. They still use transtube technology in many of their current amps. Since they no longer produce this amp the used market is the only way to go if you desire this amp. I have seen them on the classifieds for right around $70 to... [read more on Audiofanzine]

iamqman rated this unit 4 on 2011-06-24.

All in all I feel that this is a great amp for the young guitarist or someone who just needs a small amp to use as a beater/practice amp. I've been using mine for over ten years and it still works very well and sounds great. I've tried the newer versions of the Rage (the one with the red stripe as well as the newer 258 model) and I was not nearl... [read more on Audiofanzine]

King Loudness rated this unit 4 on 2011-04-27.

This was my first guitar amp, I've had it for years and just decided to keep it around. It is small, so it's portable and convenient if you just want it for casual jamming. It is also pretty cheap, which is always nice. However the sound is certainly short of spectacular. Most of what comes out of this amp is pretty tame and thin sounding, t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

JackLudden rated this unit 3 on 2008-08-11.

after all its been through its held up pretty well its a good starter amp. i reccomend getting a pettle though if you want to continue using this amp. [read more on Audiofanzine]

sebastian rated this unit 4 on 2006-08-12.

This is a great product for its price..! The EQ allows you to create a lot of different sounds. its a good practice amp. You can even jam. youll be heard over the drums and bass. Its not great to perform to an audience unless you play solo, or with someone else. bottom line: if you can find it for less.. its a steal. you should be very happy ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Igor rated this unit 5 on 2004-12-26.

Good for playing by your self or jamming with just drums but I wouldn't count on it for anything else. [read more on Audiofanzine]

I Like Dirt rated this unit 5 on 2004-04-09.

I would recommend this to any one looking for a well made practise amp. enough variation on the clean and dirty channels to make it versatile. Good Headphone line and CD mixing capability. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Journeyman rated this unit 5 on 2004-03-12.

This is a pretty solid amp that can last you if you don't want to play a gig. It's a good practice amp. The distortion isn't that good, so you might want to get a pedal. [read more on Audiofanzine]

David W.. rated this unit 3 on 2004-02-06.

Not worth your cash unless you spend another $100 on a pedal. Just get a $100 dollar more expensive amp for great sound. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Joe MacMillan rated this unit 2 on 2003-12-09.

great for starters or as a practise amp [read more on Audiofanzine]

Iain rated this unit 4 on 2003-10-20.

i think for how much these guys cost they are great they are good for a practise or beginner i dont think you going really gig with it its not that loud but you could give it a try i think for what it is its a great little amp i rate it 5 in context of 10-15 w amps [read more on Audiofanzine]

rated this unit 5 on 2003-06-25.

Theres not a whole lot of good choice with practice amps. However this is one of the best of them. Theres not much point of paying more for a Blazer 158, theres just one added feature to it. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Rick Secchi rated this unit 3 on 2003-05-23.

Great beginner amp especially if you play all kinds of music. Versatility and durability are the keys to this amp. You can be sure that you will have this amp for long time as a practice amp, plus, Peavey is known for making quality products. I would easily recommend this amp especially for an amp under $100. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Mario rated this unit 4 on 2003-01-10.

I would recomend this to any beginner or someone looking for a low-volume practice amp. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Alex rated this unit 4 on 2002-08-21.

I'd recommend this amp the ANY beginner out there looking for a great sound for a low price. But this is a practice amp, and nothing else. [read more on Audiofanzine]

torrin rated this unit 4 on 2002-05-26.

If you are a distortion person its not powerfull enough,but gread practice amp! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Dan rated this unit 4 on 2002-05-23.

The Rage is a solid practice amp, but not enough for the gig. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Stugger rated this unit 3 on 2002-04-14.

so bottom line, if u play clean guitar, well this amp is a good choice, beacuse it couldnt distort if speaker blew. i like the amp for some clean playing once and a while, but i like to play metal, with lots of distortion, and this dosent come close. i use it for a mic amp sometimes, and it sounds alright. but for distorted guitar playin it suck... [read more on Audiofanzine]

pooploser rated this unit 3 on 2002-03-25.

A good starting amp perfect for anybody who wants to start playing guitar [read more on Audiofanzine]

vise rated this unit 5 on 2001-10-05.

The bottom line is, If you need a good practice amp , this is it. If you want to have it with reverb get the Peavey blazer 158. [read more on Audiofanzine]

shan shan rated this unit 5 on 2001-07-06.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000