Shure SM-57 Reviews 4

Shure SM-57

There are some drawbacks to consider about the SM57. While it does not need phantom power, it does need a lot of gain at the preamp when recording softer sounds. That can bring in more noise from the preamp (the Mic itself is generally quiet). The SM57, as mentioned before, does not capture the very low or very high frequencies as well as con... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mitchgeist rated this unit -1 on 2012-11-14.

Overall, the Shure SM57 is a great mic that belongs in every studio, simply because it is so universally used. Even if you have better microphones that work better for specific situations, it?s still a good idea to keep these around, because they are always useful and every musician is familiar with them. [read more on Audiofanzine]

JeffTadashi rated this unit 5 on 2012-07-03.

Overall, I don't really have anything bad to say about this microphone. It does the job well. A lot of times, if none of your hi end stuff won't work on a track, a 57 will fit in nicely. Sure, the SM57 doesn't sound anything like a U87, but it has it's place. I'm willing to bet it is the most used microphone of all time. These days, they are mad... [read more on Audiofanzine]

severinsteel rated this unit 4 on 2012-06-29.

Overall, there are a lot of mics on the market some good and some bad. But we are all on a budget and want the best we can get for our money. For the price range of this mic you wont find a better mic that cost around the same amount of money. That is the reason it is so popular, some of the more commercial studio?s still use the Shure SM 57 eve... [read more on Audiofanzine]

stompboxjon rated this unit 5 on 2012-05-22.

The greatest thing about this mic is it's versatility. You can use it for almost anything, with an acceptable sound. It has a good frequency response, and getting close gives it a small boost in the low end that can be used to your advantage in many situations. I love the way this mic sounds, as it is incredibly dependable and usable in practica... [read more on Audiofanzine]

johnrae rated this unit 4 on 2012-05-14.

One thing I love the most about the mic is how accurate it was with my voice. I did no eq to the vocals at all and the low end was pretty warm and hi?s weren?t over the top. Everything seemed to be pretty neat and clean. I have even recorder my friend who is a singer on it and it picked her high pitches up great. And keep in mind I had no stand... [read more on Audiofanzine]

AlanForPresident rated this unit 4 on 2012-05-09.

The famous Shure 57...there is a serious love/hate on this microphone. I've been on both sides of the pendulum, so here's my experiences... It seems that every major guitar tone in the studio and live applications use the 57. World famous mic that one has to have...and even better, it's actually affordable! After decades of using dozens of othe... [read more on Audiofanzine]

crankyrayhanky rated this unit 4 on 2012-04-20.

I've used nearly all the studio go-to mics for guitar cabs, and I keep coming back to the SM57. The e609 sounds great for lower gain, but lacks aggressiveness for higher gain applications, the 57 does it all. The Sennheiser MD421 is a great cab mic, but is also 4 times the price - And at that price, it's certainly not $300 better. The Royer ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

MatrixClaw rated this unit 5 on 2012-03-31.

This is a good mic. It does the job, sounds decent on most applications, but excels on electric guitars and snare drums. It can be decent on toms, or even kick, and some vocalists, particularly male vocalists, can sound incredible on one. Every studio on this planet has one of these mics. It's not the best mic - I can always think of a better mi... [read more on Audiofanzine]

heads on fire rated this unit 4 on 2011-11-02.

The thing I like least about the mic is also thing I like most. It has this nasty little upper midrange hump that makes the mic cut beautifully live, but also can boost some unwanted frequencies in a studio situation. That said, its pretty easy to compensate for this with mic placement and equalization. Undoubtedly this mic is a great value. ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ejendres rated this unit 4 on 2011-10-11.

The Shure SM 57 is a classic mic that has a very natural sound about it. And it doesn?t pick up too much background noise. I think everyone that has every recorded has came across the Shure SM 57. For the price, this mic just can't be beat. Selling for under $100 in most retail stores and online, anyone investing in a good microphone can afford ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ericthegreat rated this unit 4 on 2011-09-22.

This is the standard for miking instruments, especially guitar cabs and snare drums. Most clubs use this as their house mic, but that doesn't mean it is the very best mic. It is a good standard microphone for most people. For those with a thin sounding voice, using the proximity effect of boosting the bass by putting the mic right to their lips ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

themaddog rated this unit 5 on 2011-09-12.

The SM57 is extremely effective grabbing the natural sound of your live and while not picking up any background noise that is flouting around in your studio. The Shure SM57 delivers great performance and its very reliable and diverse. This mic has been chosen by several artist and producers worldwide, so you should give a try and you will see t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

yoTrakkz rated this unit 5 on 2011-09-06.

I can't really explain how they've become the industry standard mic. I'm not saying that they sound bad, there are better mics out there for the price of course. Maybe it's because they are relatively inexpensive and also sound decent? I can't say that they sound great or transparent as the Sm57 to my ears seems to be a bit sterile at some point... [read more on Audiofanzine]

nickname009 rated this unit 3 on 2011-08-27.

I absolutely love this mic. I use it in almost every session I record. My go to is to use this mic on snare drums and pair it with a large diaphragm condenser and put it on guitar amps. But really you can mic anything on this and it will sound alright. Any studio should have at least a couple of 57s lying around for all purpose recording. For $1... [read more on Audiofanzine]

polishdog90 rated this unit 5 on 2011-08-26.

As a guitarist and producer I tend to know what I like and what I don't. Most people tend to favor these most for electric guitar. I personally am not the biggest fan of that application. It's picky about positioning for one thing, and really needs to find the sweet spot on the speaker. In the studio, this isn't a big issue, but I play live ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

James... rated this unit 5 on 2011-08-03.

If you have one or two of these microphones, especially if you have a nice condenser to supplement it with, then you will have many, many bases covered. Nothing is particularly impossible to use when you are using the SM57. You just have to know what you're doing. All you really require is a bit of working knowledge of what parts to deaden, what... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Kierkes rated this unit 5 on 2011-06-27.

I've only used this microphone in a studio setting (Home recording and university studio) so I can't comment on how well it works in a live environment. I routinely use this microphone for two things, that is for recording guitar cabinets and snare drums. I really enjoy the sound produced when using a pair of these microphones to mic the top and... [read more on Audiofanzine]

badgerific rated this unit 5 on 2011-03-30.

Fantastic piece of gear. For under $100, I can't think of anything better. [read more on Audiofanzine]

rated this unit 5 on 2010-08-30.

Fantastic piece of gear. For under $100, I can't think of anything better. [read more on Audiofanzine]

ShackMan rated this unit 5 on 2010-08-30.

Overall, you won't find a more versatile mic for $100 or less. It is great both in the studio and in a live setting. They are built to last forever and don't take much fiddling with, just plug them in and find out where you want to put it. [read more on Audiofanzine]

MattG rated this unit 5 on 2010-03-12.

What I like most about this microphone is its versatility. It can be used for just about anything you can imagine. Its definitely a staple for me on drums and guitar amplifiers. It provides good clean sound and is also considered by many as the "studio standard" in recording situations. Other things I like about this microphone is what I lik... [read more on Audiofanzine]

songboy rated this unit 5 on 2010-01-24.

Overall, I couldn't be happier. I didn't over pay for this, it's extremely high quality, and as long as you don't use the SM-57 for an application it wasn't designed for, you'll love it. I sure do. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Chris rated this unit 3 on 2010-01-16.

Overall, as I said, the mic is never the best choice for recording, but if you're a college student like me on a shoestring budget, you can make do with these. Considering that I tend to record a lot of my own music in a pretty lo-fi manner, I think that having a few of these is a great thing, especially if most of what you do is rock music. The... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mooseherman rated this unit 4 on 2009-04-16.

I'm very loyal to my microphones, once I find a model that does the job - and this is one mic that I cannot have enough of in my collection. I've owned one SM57 for five years, and found so many uses for it that I invested in another pair 18 months ago. This is an excellent mic to add to your collection if you play in a band and mic your instr... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Wurly Girl rated this unit 5 on 2008-08-26.

I have been using these since I started with music. They have been around for a long time and are still in wide use. They are very versatile and cheap to buy, so they are everywhere. Some common applications are guitar cabinets, drums, vocals, bass cabinets, and almost anything else. They have a presence peak which can help things be more cl... [read more on Audiofanzine]

webstersays rated this unit 5 on 2008-08-18.

This is the swiss army knife of your studio. You can use it on any source in the studio from Accordion to Xylophone. Keep in mind that this microphone is heavily influenced by the type of preamp that you pair it with. The better quality preamp, the better reproduction of sound you can expect. Currently in 2008, they are easily had for $100 n... [read more on Audiofanzine]

donsolo rated this unit 5 on 2008-07-29.

I've had my 57s for 3 or 4 years now and no studio should be without them. I've never gone into a studio that hasn't had at least a few 57s. They are great because they are cheap and since they are dynamic mics they can take some abuse, which is great if a drummer accidentally hits it with their stick, or if you are using them in a live setting.... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2008-03-25.

If you need a mic for vocals or guitar or just about darn near anything else, buy this microphone. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Dave S. rated this unit 5 on 2001-11-26.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000