Shure SM-58 Reviews 5

Shure SM-58

The mic is very precise with the sound, you may have to cut out some of the lower end frequencies with it, depending on how close you are to the mic and how deep your voice is. That was the only issue that I had when using this mic. I didn?t try any models prior to this one, I think I might have use a cheap radio shack mic 1 time but when I got ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

theaudioandvideoguy rated this unit 4 on 2012-03-20.

The SM58 also does a pretty good job on drums (not really bass drum), and other loud things like guitar cabs. It uses the same capsule as the SM57, one of the best mics for guitar cabs. I've given other microphones in the same price range, (and even some that are pricier) an honest test drive, but I just keep coming back to my SM58. Some of t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

ericthegreat rated this unit 5 on 2011-09-22.

The 58 is sort of like the 57 with a different front as most people have argued. They both seem to have the same type of sound, that is with enhanced presence and upper midrange and not much low end. These are good for vocals and increases the presence through the mix for most people. I've used the 58 like a 57 for experiments and have found tha... [read more on Audiofanzine]

nickname009 rated this unit 4 on 2011-08-28.

I really like this mic. It's prefect for live sound on most instruments, especially vocals because of the pop filter. I generally don't use it on most studio recordings. I have access to a bunch of sm57s so I generally use those instead but you could definitely use this on guitar, drums, percussion, or anything really. It's really nice on loud s... [read more on Audiofanzine]

polishdog90 rated this unit 4 on 2011-08-26.

I like the price of the mic the best, it?s a decent mic around 100 dollars and it offers good quality for it. But if you can save up a little more there are mics that go from 200 to 400 that are way better. But in the 100 dollar price range there is nothing better than the ol stable handy Shure SM 58 . The Shure SM 58 is a standard great starte... [read more on Audiofanzine]

yoTrakkz rated this unit 4 on 2011-08-04.

If you've never owned a microphone before, there is no reason for anyone to ever pass up the SM58. This is because you will never be short of advice or opinions on how to squeeze every ounce of quality out of it. So for $100 new, you are setting yourself up for a lot of joy in the Shure SM58. I fully and utterly recommend it, no matter what y... [read more on Audiofanzine]

Kierkes rated this unit 5 on 2011-06-27.

This is the standard for vocal performance. Most clubs use this as their house mic, but that doesn't mean it is the very best mic. It is a good standard microphone for most people. For those with a thin sounding voice, using the proximity effect of boosting the bass by putting the mic right to their lips will give a much fuller sound. The ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

themaddog rated this unit 4 on 2011-06-14.

If you need a mic, this is it. Best $90 you will ever spend. There are a few cheap knock offs out there. Yes, you can get them for half the price, but they are not as durable or a nice sounding. Get the real thing, get a Shure. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Billy rated this unit 5 on 2010-11-04.

One of the best things about all Shure Mics is the amazing warranty they have. Even when its out of warranty, no matter what happened, or what condition it is in, you can always send it to shure with a nominal fee (about $35 to $40) and get a brand spanking new one in return. Besides that, this mic also gets props for its ability to take a be... [read more on Audiofanzine]

songboy rated this unit 5 on 2010-01-17.

Overall, I love it. It sounds great, works night after night, and is beat to hell. This is what gear is supposed to be built like. If you end up buying one new (I think they are around $100 new), you will get years out of it. As a matter of fact, it might outlive you. Perhaps the preacher will be using it as they lower you down. [read more on Audiofanzine]

DiamondDave rated this unit 5 on 2010-01-04.

I've used these mics for about 8 years and have never had a problem. I like using them for live vocals mostly. They are virtually indestructible and the sound quality has never deteriorated or gotten worse. I like the versatility of them a lot as well. For someone who isn't an audiophile, or hasn't been around microphones for very long, the diff... [read more on Audiofanzine]

mooseherman rated this unit 5 on 2009-04-29.

The sm-58 was the first mic I ever got. Ive used it for around 7 years and I still have the first ones I ever got. Lending them to churches and bands over the years, they've been through everything imaginable and they still sound great. Having attended several classes on sound engineering, it is clear that the sm-58 is a good industry standard t... [read more on Audiofanzine]

rains_en rated this unit 5 on 2009-02-06.

I've been using Shure SM58s for about seven years and boy can these things take a beating. I have seen ones that appear to have huge dents in them, but still work great. They are the top choice of a lot of touring bands as they can stand to take a beating and even if they get lost or stolen they are cheap and easily replaceable. These mics will ... [read more on Audiofanzine]

moosers rated this unit 5 on 2009-02-04.

I've been using these since about 6 years ago. It is pretty much the standard live vocal mic. It definitely gets the job done just fine, and at an attractive price. If I had to complain, you could say the highs can be a little dull, but frankly this is less important in a live setting - you wouldn't really want to use this for recording, when... [read more on Audiofanzine]

JackLudden rated this unit 4 on 2008-08-10.

The Shure SM-58 is a great mic at a great price. Period. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Andy M. rated this unit 5 on 2004-03-10.

This mic rocks. Recommend it, and wouldn't get any other mic after working with this one so long. Except maybe the one with the switch. Compared to AKG's and Nady's of similar price, this thing is like a Cadillac for the price of a Hyundai. I wouldn't spend money on any other microphone. [read more on Audiofanzine]

Sean Hankins rated this unit 5 on 2003-12-25.

If you're looking for a great vocal microphone for hard rock, heavy metal, or just about any type of music, take a look at the Shure SM58. It Rocks! [read more on Audiofanzine]

Donny rated this unit 5 on 2001-07-01.

Write a user review

� Gear Review Network / MusicGearReview.com - 2000