PRS launches new hollowbody electric 12-string

(Dave Molter | Posted 2010-07-26)

PRS launches new hollowbody electric 12-string

Designed at the request of Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson, the new PRS Hollowbody 12 is a beautiful looking instrument that should appeal to thiose who have teh cash to buy one.

While writing and recording Rush’s twentieth studio album at Blackbird Studios in Nashville, Lifeson came across a PRS solidbody 12 string guitar. He contacted the factory to request a replica of this instrument, commenting, “I've been messing around with one of your 12 strings, and it's by far the best 12 string I've ever played.”

FPRS was preparing to run the first prototypes a new 12 string hollowbody guitar and asked Lifeson if he would evaluate it.

"The playability is instantly silky and facile, the tone bright, clear and shimmering, and the finishing details are a testament to the PRS craftsmanship," Lifeson said. "The broad fretboard is a joy to play, and I was blown away by the intonation–of course, split saddles!! Why doesn't everyone do that?”

The Hollowbody 12 is expected to retail for slightly more than $6100 USD.

Top Wood Maple
Back Wood Mahogany
Side Wood Mahogany
Number of Frets 22
Scale Length 25"
Neck Wood Mahogany
Fretboard Wood Rosewood
Neck Shape Wide Fat
Fretboard Inlays "Old School" Birds Hardware
Bridge 12-String (split saddles)
Hardware Type Nickel
Treble Pickup Archtop
Bass Pickup Archtop
Pickup Switching Volume and Tone Control with 3-Way Toggle pickup Selector
Top Options 10-Top
Hardware Option Gold Hardware
Other Options Special Order Finish

About PRS Guitars
PAul Reed Smith began building guitars in 1985 when he was challenged by a college professor to build an instrument. Carlos Santana was the first major artists to endorse PRS guitars. Many well-known guitar players enjoy and endorse the PRS guitar. Some of the these famous artists are Ted Nugent, Alex Lifeson, Chad Kroeger (Nickelback), Dave Navarro (Jane's Addiction and Red Hot Chili Peppers), Ed Robertson and Kevin Hearn (Barenaked Ladies), Jacob Stutevoss (Saliva), Jewel, Jimmy Buffett, Joe Walsh (The Eagles), John Fogerty, Mick Mars (Motley Crue), Neal Schon (Journey) and Phil Campbell (Motorhead).

Compiled from information on the PRS website:

Write a user review